//
you're reading...
Inspiring Stories

Fantastic Friday: Gratitude Apps Edition

It’s New Year’s resolution time!  Actually, I’m late (maybe being punctual should have been my resolution this year). But I have a love hate relationship with resolutions.  I like the idea, but I’m not so great at them in practice.  For instance, last year, my new year’s resolution was to be more of sucker like my friend.  That was probably too vague in retrospect  Then again, I don’t like to set specific goals.  At the very least, I think that focusing on effort (i.e., I’m going to work out 3x a week) vs. outcomes (I’m going to lose 20 pounds this year), is best.

So this year, for my New Year’s resolution, I decided I was going to do something which I’ve been thinking about a lot and put it into action.  I want to do one nice thing for someone unsolicited per day (and document it so I can remember).  Feeling proud of myself, I told the little birdie.  She thought it was a great idea, and then, of course, trumped me by saying that she was starting a gratitude journal.  Even better.

Of course, both the nice deeds journal and the gratitude journal are with the thought in mind that I want to be more positive in my outlook on life.  In fact, that’s a major reason I even write these Fantastic Fridays in the first place.  To remind myself (and others) that, in a seemingly endless stream of negative news and events, that there are oases of positivity (is that a word?) that occur everyday.  It’s been well documented that doing nice things for others makes us happier.  Similarly, being mindful of what we are to be thankful for does as well.

So, I’m thinking that I’m going to write at least one thing I’m thankful for per week (maybe we’ll call it Thankful Thursdays?), and hope that others will add their thanks to the comments.  But, what about every other day you ask?

Well, that’s where the gratitude apps come in.  Yes, there are gratitude apps.  They allow you to write down and document what you’re thankful for each day via your smartphone.  Some allow for photojournaling as well so you don’t even have to write anything if that’s more your speed.  And, several allow you to share the thanks with the person directly or publicly give them props via FB, Twitter, etc.  All while helping you review and remember what made Jan 11th, 2013 (for instance) such a special day.

Without further ado…

For iPhone users, check out:

And for Android, check out:

Now I just have to develop an app to record my daily nice deeds (unless someone out there already knows of one?!?)

Have a Fantastic Friday everyone!

Discussion

One thought on “Fantastic Friday: Gratitude Apps Edition

  1. Thanks for mentioning our app, the ‘Moments of Gratitude’ Journal here! We’re grateful. Don’t hesitate to let us know if you want to know more about our app. 🙂

    Posted by Midnight Troop | January 13, 2013, 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Be Our Twitter Friend

Archives

Categories

