//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tuesday Morning Musings

First off, I have to add a little commentary to Chico’s post yesterday. I went into this year’s Oscars with little excitement and lots of resentment. Everyone within a 240 mile radius knows how I felt about “The Help” and I’m not even going to pretend that I was sad that the amazing Viola Davis didn’t get the Best Actress award. Is that mean? Probably so. But I am confident her skills will be awarded some time down the line for a role that doesn’t make half of the Essence readership so quesy. I know Ms. Davis did some serious soul-searching before taking the role and brought her usual elegance but I just can’t get down. I don’t have much else to add that Melissa Harris-Perry and bloggers all over the world haven’t already said, but yeah, V, you’ll get yours one day.

The other source of chagrin for me was the obvious winner of the Best Documentary Prize. In usual Ms. Makeda fashion, I’m about to go off on a movie I haven’t even seen yet, but the NPR story on it emboldened me to do so. I’ve been calling “Undefeated,” the real life “The Blind Side,” and as far as I can tell the directors did little to play with a storyline that works quite well for the audience. Wealthy, white businessman in Memphis(what the hell is going on down there??) decides to coach downtrodden black football team. Excellence ensues. Children that never wanted to learn now have a zeal for pre-algebra. So surprising. During the NPR story, the directors were asked how they handled the delicate (and um, overt) racial overtones of the story. Race? Totally inconsequential, according to the directors. That was enough for me to know that 1) I’ll never see this movie and 2) they would win the Oscar. And, to boot, the directors “forgot” to thank the actual kids who were the source of their good fortune during their speeches. I’m done.

I also spent a good part of the weekend being forced to watch the NFL Scouting Combine. The bf tried to explain it to me but I was blinded by the sight of 270 pound offensive lineman being forced into tiger-print Spanx. The whole thing made me uncomfortable. Twenty-year old boys being poked and prodded, carefully observed to see how fast they can run and how high they can jump? You know where I am going with this…Supposedly “Pro Days” have more relevance to what the players actually do on the field so I’m confused why the meat market combine is necessary…

And finally, what would a news roundup be without mentioning President of Narnia candidate Rick Santorum? I usually ignore the whole Republican debacle but this quote was too ridiculous to go unnoted:

President Obama once said he wants everybody inAmerica to go to college. What a snob. There are good, decent men and women who go out and work hard every day and put their skills to test that aren’t taught by some liberal college professor trying to indoctrinate them. I understand why he wants you to go to college. He wants to remake you in his image.

I’m so confused. Didn’t Rick Santorum go to college? Don’t most Republican voters go to college? What’s wrong with college again? Even New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie had to call out the foolishness:

 I think that’s probably over the line,” Christie told (CBS Face the Nation host Bob) Schieffer: “I don’t think the president is a snob for saying that.” Christie, who is supporting Mitt Romney, said Santorum’s position on higher education doesn’t “make any sense.” He noted that not every child wants to attend college, but “we should aspire to let every child reach his maximum or her maximum potential.”

 I don’t have anything else to say about this guy. Michigan and Arizona—try to come to your senses long enough in the voting booth to vote for someone who seems to have a coherent agenda at least 65% of the time.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Be Our Twitter Friend

Archives

Categories

