//
you're reading...
Economics, Health

WTF Inequality Story du Jour

When I read stories like these, sometimes I have to read it again just to make sure that I read it right the first time. Then I read it again, and then I think to myself, the author must have made a typo.  And then I check other sources.  Then I get a screwface and say to myself…

w
t
f

Today’s wtf inequality story of the day is this gem:

Just six members of the Walton family, heirs to the Walmart fortune, possess wealth equal to that of the entire bottom 30 percent of Americans…

They are all children or children-in-law of the founders of Walmart. Their total net worth that year [2007]: $69.7 billion.

30 percent of Americans…just so you don’t read it and say, “that must be a typo,” I’ll do the math and tell you that would be approximately 90M people, give or take a few million.  I assume (not sure on this though) that some of that 90M are living off their allowance for doing their chores and homework, but, even if…still….

Oh…and what about those employees that helped make that $70B fortune?  Those health benefits…?  You didn’t really need those do you?  Thanks…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Be Our Twitter Friend

Archives

Categories

